Nominate a colleague for ASTE Awards I, II or III

Dear ASTE Community,

The ASTE Awards Committee is now accepting nominations for Awards I, II, and III – Science Education Career Awards. Any member of ASTE (including graduate students) may submit a nomination. The nominee should be informed about the award nomination and nominators must follow guidelines in preparing nomination materials. As of January 2020, the list of required materials has been modified from previous years. Descriptions of each of these awards are provided below, but are also available online.

Award I – Outstanding Science Teacher Educator of the Year (Two Levels). These awards recognize the individual achievements and contributions of ASTE members. Level I is for ASTE members in the first 10 years of their career. Level II is for ASTE members beyond the first 10 years of their career.

Award II – Outstanding Mentor. This award honors ASTE members who support and encourage pre-service and in-service science teachers and/or new science teacher educators entering the profession. It also seeks to recognize the valuable contributions of mentors to the profession of science teacher education.

Award III – Outstanding Longtime Service to ASTE. This award recognizes outstanding service by a long-standing member of ASTE (> 15 years). For this award, service is defined as work accomplished a committed ASTE member in an effort to address issues, goals, and actions that have intellectual merit and broader impact on science teacher education.

Nominations for Awards I, II, and III must be submitted online. To do so, go to, log in, and then click on the link “Nominations must be submitted online”.

Submissions for Awards I, II, and III are due June 1stand must comply with the submission guidelines available at The Awards Chair will contact nominees shortly after the June 1 deadline to confirm receipt of the nomination.

If you have questions about Awards I, II, or III, please contact Awards Chair, Dr. Emily Dare,


Emily Dare & Jennifer Mesa

ASTE Awards Chair and co-Chair